2013-2014

Mid-Year

Committee/Advisory Council Report

Committee Name: Vernon College Emergency Medical Services Advisory Committee

Chairperson: Kade Long

List of members: Dr. Chip Brooks, Lou Anne Schaffer, Kim Stringfellow, Ross Caston, Brian Chancellor, Roger Ritchie, Jon Reese, Kent Smead, Charles Grady, Kade Long, Tim, Eddie Johnson, Emily Hill, Brian Deason, Kenny Hoffman, Jerry Bradshaw, Monica Belvedere

Dates of meetings: October 23, 2013 --9:00 AM

Accomplishments:

- New positions/members: Kade Long elected Chair Person and Jon Reese elected Recorder; New Medical Director-Dr. Chip Brooks
- Established & assigned recipient of the Al Garcia Memorial EMS Scholarship: Eddie Johnson;
 Advisory Committee members and their agencies raised the funds
- Updated program requirements: Lowered AAS degree to 60 hours; incorporated the 1338 review class into 1355 & 1356; Implemented requirement-students file for certificates or graduation prior to receiving their National Registry voucher
- Reviewed goals and objectives: changed the wording in number 21 to include the student will
 exhibit personal social traits, personal responsibility and team work; removed goals 7 & 9 to
 avoid redundancy; changed the basic fire certification to suppression to the Texas Commission
 for Fire Protection; changed number 6 by placing ladders on its own number; included number
 21 from the EMS goals and objective to Fire as well
- Enrolled students: 19 Basic, 15 Advanced, and 13 Paramedic Fall 13; Total 47
- Registered 58 students with EMT major Fall semester
- Promoted program: Sophomore Roundup

Recommendations: Robyn and Dr. Harkey further research policies and regulations regarding pre admission or drug testing and readdress in a future meeting

Membership suggestions: None

Agendas, exhibits and minutes posted to Vernon College web site address: http://www.vernoncollege.edu/CollegeEffectiveness/Committees.aspx

Submitted by: Donna Egoavil

Date submitted: June 30, 2014